Category Archives: Grants


Mathematics at University of Hawaii

Pictured: Asst. Prof. Daisuke Takagi speaking to the Manoa Math Ohana.

The American Mathematical Society ranks our program among the 56 Group 2 departments, behind the 25 public and 23 private Group 1 departments. Details on the AMS ranking.

Specifically, the AMS put us in the “Math Public Small” category, together with (to mention our geographical neighbors in that category) UC Santa Cruz, UC Riverside, Oregon State, and Washington State.


National Science Foundation

Collaborative Research: Algebra and Algorithms, Structure and Complexity Theory
Ralph Freese

Dynamics, Geometry, and K-Theory
Award Number:1401126; Principal Investigator:Rufus Willett; Organization:University of Hawaii;NSF Organization:DMS Award Date:07/01/2014; Award Amount:$126,000.00.

Kernel approximation with scalable bases
Thomas Hangelbroek

11th International Conference on Computability, Complexity and Randomness
Bjørn Kjos-Hanssen (2015–2016); Award Amount:$22,480

Army Research Office

Daisuke Takagi

Simons Foundation: Collaboration Grants for Mathematicians

2018: Erik Guentner
2016: Sarah Post, Rob Harron
2015: Monique Chyba, Michelle Manes
2014: Bjørn Kjos-Hanssen
2012: Erik Guentner
2011: Pavel Guerzhoy

Some of our major past extramural funding
  • School and University Partnership for Educational Renewal in Mathematics (SUPER-M): Monique Chyba (PI), Erik Guentner, Mirjana Jovovic, Michelle Manes, and David Ross (co-PIs) have been awarded a five-year, $2.7 million grant from the National Science Foundation. For more information please go to
  • Leslie Wilson (PI) and Ann Castelfranco (co-PI), NSF UBM grant, $298,922, 2006-2011 (undergraduate research experiences in mathematical biology)
  • Bjørn Kjos-Hanssen, PI of NSF grant "Computability and Probability" of $\$200,000$ during 2009-2013. Kjos-Hanssen is also one of 13 co-PIs on an NSF Focused Research Group on Algorithmic Randomness, from around the country. Total cost: $\$500,000$ during 2007-2011.
  • Erik Guentner, NSF Faculty Early Career Development Award, $400,000, 2004-2010.
  • J.B. Nation, NSF CSEMS Scholarship grant, $\$396,000$, 2004-2008 (scholarships in computer science, engineering and mathematics)
  • Monique Chyba, NSF grant, 2003-2006, with the Autonomous Systems Laboratory
  • Pavel Guerzhoy, Congruences related to modular forms, NSF standard grant, 2006-2009.
See also a list of Invited Addresses.

Teaching Awards

Research Awards

Math majors nominated for Phi Beta Kappa

University and public service


Math Teachers’ Circle of Hawai’i


The Math Teachers’ Circle (MaTCH) is beginning its fifth year, and we were just awarded our fifth consecutive ESEA grant to run the program. Mathematics teachers from across Oahu come to UH once each month to do math with Prof. Michelle Manes and graduate student Eric Reckwerdt. Former graduate student (and KCC faculty member) John Rader will a parallel session for groups of teachers on neighbor islands who connect with us via Google Hangouts.

A morning of math activities is followed by pedagogical conversations led by our College of Education colleagues Linda Venenciano and Sean Yagi.

MaTCH has been growing steadily each year and is attaining national recognition. This past year, Prof. Manes was invited to lead circles at the University of Colorado at Denver and at the University of New Mexico. An article based on some recent MaTCH sessions appears in the recent Math Teachers’ Circle Newsletter ( An education research paper based on our work in MaTCH was recently accepted by the Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators for their national conference in January.

Math department faculty and graduate students are welcome to join us for any session. If anyone is interested in leading a fun activity for a motivated group of teachers, just let us know! Feel free to pass along the information to any K-12 teachers.

This year’s meetings will take place on eight Saturdays: Sept 12, Oct 3, Nov 7, Dec 5, Feb 6, Mar 5, April 2, and May 7. All meetings run from 8:30am – 12:30pm, with math activities taking the first 2 – 2.5 hours of the meeting. We meet in Webster 101, on the UHM campus.


The Math Teachers’ Circle is entering its fourth year (and we were just awarded our fourth consecutive ESEA grant to run the program).

Our website is here:

We have about 50 participants this year, including 4-5 on Molokai who are connecting with our sessions electronically.

We were discussed in the national Math Teachers’ Circle newsletter. See the Summer 2014 issue here:

Prof. Michelle Manes has been invited to talk about our Math Teachers’ Circle at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in 2015.