Awards 2012

The Mathematics Department gives an undergraduate award each year prior to commencement, the Kern-Clark Award. The department gives these awards to undergraduates whose performance in their mathematics classes has been outstanding. The winner of the 2012 Kern-Clark award is Lindsey Taira.

The Department also gives two Excellence in Teaching Awards each year, one to a graduate teaching assistant  and the other to a faculty member who have been outstanding teachers. The winners of these awards in 2012 are Ming Jing Chi and Wayne Smith.

With sadness for us, and joy for her! One of the constants in the Department - Shirley Kikiloi, Department Secretary, will be retiring May 31st. With a commitment to excellence and service in excess of 25 years, her retirement will be felt by all as she has added so much in both work and spirit.